Jomfruens Egede is elegently situated in the southern part of Zealand, not far from the Danish city of Faxe. The manorhouse's main building has protected status, and many of the furniture and mirrors, designed by architect J. C. Lillie, are still part of the interior design. The decorations are among the most unique of their kind, as the National Museum writes: "It is likely one of the main collections, if not the most prominent, in Danish Interior Art from the late 1700’s.”
In addition to the beautifully renovated halls, salons and rooms in the main building, the decor is a harmonious mix of new and old. Several of the former breeding buildings have been renovated and now serve as scenes of celebrations, conferences and comfortable accommodations.
Jomfruens Egede is now privately owned and professionally run by a well-trained, service-minded staff, whose focus is quality, unique experiences and events. Behind the scenes stands Mette Steen as Jomfruens Egede’s devoted director, and Count Joachim Moltke as a committed co-owner
The New Egede, restored 2018.
The story of ‘Egede"‘ can be traced back to 1346, when the estate was owned by one of Valdemar Atterdag's faithful squires. In 1542, the two noble maidens Birgitte and Ermegaard Bille inherited the estate from their father and renamed it “Jomfruernes Egede”.
While the manor and the church survived the Swedish wars, the surrounding village did not. In 1658 it was burned down by the Swedes, after which the village grounds were placed as part of the estate.
A love drama in 1661 linked the Jomfruens Egede and Lystrup together. The 16-year-old Sidsel Kaas inherited Jomfruen’s Egede after his father. At that time she was betrothed to Peder Grubbe at Lystrup. The king's chieftain, Vincent von Hahn from the nearby estate Sparresholm, fell in love with the young girl, and behind her back he succeed to get the king's permission to marry. Von Hahn even forbade the priest to mary the maiden to Peder Grubbe. The drama ended with von Hahn challenging Peder Grubbe. Four of Von Hahn's men beat Peder Grubbe unconscious and drove him home to Lystrup. Von Hahn married Sidsel Kaas and with her also the estate of Jomfruens Egede.
In 1674, Christian V’s mistress, Sophie Amalie Moth, the Countess of Samsøe, bought Jomfruens Egede, where she lived until his death in 1719. At the end of the 18th century, the main manor building was rebuilt with an extension containing a new southern wing, which gives the main building its appearance today.
Architects Harsdorff and J.C. Lillie were in charge of the restoration and rebuild. They were given the freedom to recruit the best architects, artists and craftsmen of the period to combine architectural and artistic remodeling, decoration and furnishing.
The Moltke family took ownership of Jomfruens Egede in 1831, and the young Count Joachim Moltke is now the sixth generation of the Moltke family at Jomfruens Egede.
ØSTER EGEDE CHURCH
In close proximity to Jomfruens Egede lies the stunning Øster Egede Church.
The church is a white-washed brick building, a very unique find in terms of the period’s architectural history. It consists of a Romanesque tower building, which connects to the church’s main building from 1608 and gothic masonry on the east wall that dates from 1579. The interior is magnificent, with a richly decorated pulpit and altarpiece, as well as vaulted ceilings and beautiful pews.
The Øster Egede Church is the ideal place for your wedding ceremony, followed by wedding festivities held at Jomfruens Egede. Learn more by clicking the Weddings tab on this site, or contacting us.
MYTHS & GHOSTS
Founded in 1346, Jomfruens Egede has been part of Denmark's history since the Middle Ages. A number of spooky occurrences have been documented since then. We’ll be happy to tell you more about the myths and ghosts described below during your stay with us.
Ghosts & Phantoms:
The bailiff's black dog witnessed his master’s murder and now walks the halls. It regularly sneaks around in the magazine flume.
The white lady is seen floating through the halls of the main building. She is very friendly and welcomes guests by opening doors – only to disappear through the thick walls of the house.
The myths have arisen over many centuries and the present owners and guests have, fortunately, never been bothered by the ghosts and phantoms.
At Jomfruens Egede, we offer a unique, historical and unconventional setting for various events in the manor's historic living quarters, the old forge, and the stoic guest rooms, as well as the surrounding forest, fields and gardens for all outdoor activities.
The historic rooms at Egede are all funished with modern comforts and simple, yet stylish, accommodations.
Many rooms feature wonderful architectural accents, and all offer new, comfortable beds.
The bathrooms are refurbished, contemporary and fully functional. Egede has single rooms / double rooms spread over a total of 46 beds.
THE DINNING HALL
Long tables | 48 guests
Round tables | 48 guests
Theater setup | 60 guests
THE GARDEN ROOM
Long tables | 48 guests
Round tables | 48 guests
Theater setup | 50 guests
THE OLD FORGE
Long tables | 120 guests
Round tables | 90 guests
THE HUNTING LODGE
Guest rooms | 21 rooms
”Sleep-over” guests | max. 46 guests